+ 4 Oil Filter

AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

Broadcaster Avatar
Broadcaster Silver Member Bob RA
Glendale, CA, USA   USA
This is the first engine oil change for me
At some stage the reusable inset filter has been changed to a canister type where the numbers have rubbed off
The car is a 1962 / 63 and I just want to get a filter and be done with
What should I buy ? Please let me know
Thanks

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
38 DHC Mark Braunstein
Vicinity of Orlando, FL, USA   USA
1934 Morgan 3 Wheeler "Moss MOG"
1938 Morgan 4-4 "Uncle Georges Winter Carriage"
1951 Morgan Plus 4 (+4)
1986 Morgan Plus 8 (+8)    & more
I too have the spin on filter modification. I use one of these in my Plus 4 w/TR3 engine. Not sure if yours is a TR3 or TR4. I would suspect they use the same, but I am not an expert. Someone please correct me if I am wrong. You can get them at just about any Auto Parts store.

Oil Filters for the TR3
FRAM - PH3600 (used for the 4/4), PH2870A, PH966B
NAPA GOLD 1516, NAPA 1034
MOBIL1 M1209
AC PFL400A
PUROLATOR PL20195
WIX 516

Cheers,
Mark

Broadcaster Avatar
Glendale, CA, USA   USA
Thanks Mark
It has FRAM on it but numbers are not legible
I don't know the differences between TR3 and TR4 engines but mine has twin SUs and I think it would possibly be TR4. It is almost a 2 litre car

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
tjw tim w
NorCal, USA   USA
Greetings... I've been using Wix 51516. Fits Ford 81-09.

Tim (D.Y.M.)

38 DHC Mark Braunstein
1951 Morgan Plus 4 (+4)
I can't tell the difference between the TR3 or TR4 either and the carb configuration probably won't help. Again, I don't think there will be a difference as I think there is only one spin on filter kit.